Roger Albert Clark Rally History

He made his debut at club level in 1956, and went on to win the first of four British Rally Championship titles in a Ford Cortina GT in 1965, and in a Ford Escort RS (1972, ’73 & ’75), all with co-driver Jim Porter.

His most notable successes came in the RAC Rally, his country’s biggest rally race. He won twice, in 1972 with Tony Mason and then again in 1976 with Stuart Pegg when it was part of the WRC, a feat that would not be emulated for over fifteen years. He also won the Acropolis Rally in 1968, the Circuit of Ireland in 1970, and the Scottish Rally on six occasions, among a total of 40 national and international victories.

In 1975 he was one of two recipients of the Segrave Trophy, bestowed upon “the Briton who accomplishes the most outstanding demonstration of the possibilities of transport by land, sea, air, or water.” He was awarded the MBE in 1979.

Both of his sons followed their father into motorsport. Olly Clark has been a competitor in the Time Attack UK series (winning the championship in 2008), Network Q Rally of Great Britain and the FIA Cup for Drivers of Production Cars, while Matt Clark is now chief engine builder at the family-owned tuning company. His brother Stan Clark was also a racing driver.

In 2004, a historic rally event was established to recreate the route of the “classic” RAC Rally, since the current race is now restricted to south Wales. The event was named the Roger Albert Clark Rally (also RAC Rally) in his honour. Competitors are limited to vehicles released prior to 1972, and traces a route through stages in Scotland and northern England which are no longer part of the modern itinerary.